B.S. Abdur Rahman University,
Seethakathi Estate,
Chennai -600048.
Phone :+91-44-22751347,48,50,75


National Conference
  • Two days National Conference on "Sustainable Clean Water Technology SCWT17" during 21-22 September 2017 


Seminars and Workshops


Summer Science Internship for School Students

  • A novel initiative by B.S. Abdur Rahman University for school studentsWith a view to “Catch them young” the University has selected 30 talented students from the creamy layer of passed out 10th std students from nearby schools in and around Vandalur area to create an aptitude and passion in science and build a career from it.   This Internship is arranged by B.S. Abdur Rahman University from May 4-22, 2015 as a social outreach programme for the benefit of semi urban and rural students in and around Vandalur.This Internship was offered free of cost and also met transport and other hospitality facilities.  
  • The objective of this programme was to expose the talented students about the latest inventions in science. Dr.S.Kutti Rani, Professor, Department of Chemistry  was appointed as a coordinator for this programme. 225 students from 45 schools in and around Vandalur area appeared for  Entrance examination which was conducted  on 13.04.15. Based on the performance in the entrance examination ,30 highly potential students were selected from 12 schools. During the Internship period the students listened to the lectures in contemporary topics of Physics, Chemistry ,Life Sciences ,Polymer Engineering and Nano materials in the forenoon delivered by eminent professors of B.S. Abdur Rahman University.  Through the lectures students understood the basic concepts and developed their intricacies of science concepts for technological development. 

  • Solar Energy


  • They got a special privilege to do a research project under the guidance of a senior professor from the University and received hands on experience in the laboratory. The students were encouraged to prepare a project and to present the same in front of committee members.

  • The students have explored their talents through a power point presentation. Out of  30 students the following students have won the prize .


Prize  Details

Name of the Students


Name of the school


Ist  Prize


Life Science

Ebenezer Mat. School, New Perungalathur.


Ist  Prize




St.Anne's Mat.Hr.Sec.         School,New Perungalathur.


IInd Prize

Gowri Manohari.S

Nano Centre

Sir Siva Swami Kalalaya School,Mylapore.


IInd Prize

Mohamed Sheik Mothi

Life Science

Alpha Mat.Hr. Sec.School,     Sembakkam.


IIIrd Prize

Divya Lakshmi.K

Life Science

Sri Vishwa Vidyalaya Hr.Sec.School,     Vandalur.


IIIrd Prize



Srimathi Sundarvalli Memorial School,        Chromepet.


Consolation Prize



The Madras Seva Sadam Hr.Sec School,West Tambaram.


Dr.S.Kutti Rani

                                                                                                                                                             Programme Coordinator


By the Department


National Seminar on Emerging Trends in Solar Energy (ETSE-2013) on 23rd October 2013

Solar Energy


Workshop on Instrumental Techniques on Chemical Research (ITCR-2012) on 23rd and 24th February 2012

Instrumental Techniques in Chemical Research



In association with

Polymer Nanotechnology Centre, Polymer Engineering, Physics and School of Life Sciences

International Conference on Nano Materials: Science, Technology and Applications (ICNM-13) during 5th to 7th December 2013




Central Electro Chemical Research Institute (CECRI) Karaikudi

National Convention of Electrochemists (NCE-17) during

14th and 15th September 2012



Other Programmes

For M.Sc. Chemistry Students

(Association with Ramasubbu Jayaram Science Foundation)

Refresher programme for aspirants of CSIR-JRF/ SLET

20th May to 1st June 2013

14th to 26th May 2012

For B.Sc. Chemistry Students

(State Level)

Intercollegiate quiz and chem tune

30th January 2014

Intercollegiate quiz programme

12th February 2013

For BE/B.Tech. Students

(National Level)


28th February 2014


28th February 2012


22nd April 2009