B.S. Abdur Rahman University,
Seethakathi Estate,
Chennai -600048.
Phone :+91-44-22751347,48,50,75

Deakin University

Signing of MoU between B.S.Abdur Rahman University and Deakin University Australia




B.S.Abdur Rahman University has entered into an MoU with Deakin University Australia on 03rd August 2011 at Taj Coromandal,Chennai, Honourable Mr. Chris Evans , The Australian Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and workplace relations was the chief guest of the function.
The MoU was signed by Prof. Jane Den Hollander, Vice Chancellor of Deakin University and Dr. P. Kanniappan, Vice Chancellor of B. S. Abdur Rahman University in the presence of Mr. Abdul Qadir A. Rahman Buhari, Pro Chancellor, B. S. Abdur Rahamn University.
Honourable Chris Evans called for deeper collaborations with Indian and Australian Universities in sharing their expertise, faculty and student exchange programs and for joint research collaborations of global significance which paves way for strengthening bilateral ties as well.
Prof.Jane Den Hollender, Vice Chancellor of Deakin University, in her speech mentioned that Deakin has been named University of the Year twice in Australia, receiving accolades for innovative use of technology in teaching and learning, and education and training partnerships. She called for deeper partnership in research areas including development of lighter automotive materials towards weight reduction in automobiles leading to fuel savings to the extent of 20%.
Dr.P.Kanniappan, Vice Chancellor of B.S.Abdur Rahman University, explained the three dimensional approach of education at the University in teaching, research and extension and consultancy and explained that the University has entered into MoUs with 40 Industries and overseas Universities .
The University inculcates a multidimensional approach in the dissemination of knowledge and develops international engagement in curriculum design, interdisciplinary research, and faculty and student exchange.
Mr.Abdul Qadir A.Rahman Buhari, Pro chancellor of B.S.Abdur Rahman University, pledged larger commitment of the University in joint research of global significance. Deakin University and B. S. Abdur Rahman University (BSARU) desire to work in a spirit of cooperation to establish an academic link between the two institutions.
Deakin and BSARU will explore the opportunities to develop articulated pathway undergraduate programs as well as joint postgraduate programs. Deakin and BSARU will identify and develop research programs of mutual interest.

Areas of Co-Operation
The Deakin and B.S.Abdur Rahman University will discuss opportunities for cooperation in the following areas with a view to developing and carrying out collaborative activities of common interests: 
  • Academic staff cooperation on collaborative research in areas of common interest;
  • Identify and develop collaborative research programs; 
  • Establish mechanism for joint supervision of Higher degree by research candidates; 
  • Development and implementation of student and staff exchange programs; 
  • Development and implementation of potential Trans-national educational programs; 
  • Identification of special short-term academic programs and projects of mutual benefit to both institutions; and 
  • Any other collaborative efforts that both parties may deem fit from time to time.